Book Review: The Sentimentalists by Johanna Skibsrud

Unfortunately, I’m pretty disappointed with this book.  After the Giller Prize and all the surrounding hype, I was expecting something different. The premise of the book, an adult woman finally getting to know her father and learning of his horrific experience in the Vietnam, is interesting but I think Ms. Skibsrud failed in the delivery.  I almost gave up on the book after a few pages because I started to get frustrated with the long sentences overdosed with commas. I finished the book but I can’t help feeling that a lot of words were used but not much was said. I just got the feeling that the author was trying too hard.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Sentimentalists by Johanna Skibsrud

Leave a Reply

